Rainy Day Crying…

Today was a rainy morning in here in Fort Bragg. I heard also that it has been raining a lot back in my home state(s) Michigan and Ohio. What perfect days for chick flicks right?

So I really love to cry during movies. Is that weird? I’m not sure if it is normal or weird. Anyways so I figured it there is anyone else out there like me you might want a list of movies that will probably make you cry too. There are super obvious crying movies like The Notebook, PS I Love You, The Fault In Our Stars (which who didn’t ugly cry in the theater watching that), Titanic, Steel Magnolias, My Girl, A Walk To Remember.  I wanted to make a list though of movies you may not have seen or maybe not even heard of. I hope you haven’t seen a few of these and choose to grab the box of Kleenex and remote…

  • Like Crazylikecrazy –This is a bit of an indie romance. My sister and I actually drove almost 2 hours away to go see this at a small theater since it wasn’t showing at a theater near us. We love it and recommend it to every person who wants to cry! It is about a British college student who falls for an American and then gets banned from the US after overstaying her student visa making it hard for their long distance relationship over the next few years. Featuring Oscar Nominee Felicity Jones, the late Anton Yelkin, and a younger Jennifer Lawrence!

 

  • Love, Rosie- love rosieThis is a movie about two best friends, Rosie (played by Lily Collins) and Alex (played by Sam Claflin) who have known each other since they were 5. They don’t think they are right for each other since they are best friends…or are they perfect for each other? Find out by watching the movie!! Who can resist a British rom-com?

 

  • Me Before You-mebeforeyou A girl in a small town forms an unlikely bond with a recently-paralyzed man she’s taking care of. You probably have heard of this movie since it only came out last year but omg this movie will make you cry! This movie stars Game of Thrones own Emilia Clark and Hunger Games’ (and previous movie Love, Rosie) Sam Claflin.

 

  • You’re Not YouYou're Not You-A drama centered on a classical pianist who has been diagnosed with ALS and the brash college student who becomes her caregiver. This movie isn’t necessarily a chick flick romance but I would consider it a chick flick. It stars Hilary Swank, Emmy Rossum, and Josh Duhamel.  Available on Netflix

 

  • One DayOne Day– After spending the night together on the night of their college graduation Dexter and Em are shown each year on the same date to see where they are in their lives. They are sometimes together, sometimes not, on that day. I absolutely LOVE this movie. You never know what it gonna happen every day next year. It stars Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess. Available on Netflix

 

  • Friends With Kids-friendswithkids This is a movie about a group of friends where two of the friends don’t have kids but the rest do. So the two childless friends decide why not just have a kid together?  This movie also has a great cast: Adam Scott, Kristen Wiig, Chris O’Dowd, Maya Rudolph, Jon Hamm, and Jennifer Westfeldt.

 

  • Brooklyn- BrooklynAn Irish immigrant lands in 1950s Brooklyn, where she quickly falls into a romance with a local. When her past catches up with her, however, she must choose between two countries and the lives that exist within. This was the first movie I saw by myself when I moved to Columbus, Ohio. I saw it twice in theaters and bought it as soon as it came out on DVD. I even gifted it as a Christmas present to my best friend because I want everyone to see it!.  It stars Oscar Nominee Saoirse Ronan who is undeniably adorable with her Irish accent!

 

  • Miss You AlreadyMiss you already– The friendship between two life-long girlfriends is put to the test when one starts a family and the other falls ill. I cried a lot in the theater watching this movie. It stars Drew Barrymore, Toni Collette and Dominic Cooper.

 

 

  • About TimeAbout time-This movie is about a 21-year-old who finds out he can travel back in time and change his decisions, he tries to do this to get a girlfriend but it isn’t as easy as it sounds.  I know how it sounds, cheesy but I promise it isn’t. Plus who doesn’t like a rom-com with Rachel McAdams? It also stars Domnhall Gleeson (Bill Weasley from Harry Potter 🙂 ).

 

Also, do yourself a favor and go make some brownies while you are at it, you know you need brownies to go with chick flicks and tears! Enjoy!

One thought on “Rainy Day Crying…

Leave a comment